AMI’s ZIMEO Excellence in Media Awards 2015 now open for entries

AMI’s ZIMEO Excellence in Media Awards 2015 now open for entries

Deadline for entries is Monday, 31st August 2015

Nairobi, 17th July 2015-The African Media Initiative is calling for entries to its Zimeo Excellence in Media Awards 2015 competition. The awards, which will be offered annually, are open to professional journalists working on the African continent.
Zimeo Trophy VI
The call for entries is for stories which have been produced and published in any medium, including print, television, radio and digital platforms. The stories should have been produced, published or broadcast in any of the following languages: English, French, Arabic and Portuguese.

The competition will recognize excellence in the following categories:

• Gender reporting
• Youth reporting
• Maritime economy reporting
• Business and finance reporting
• Technology reporting
• Agriculture and food security reporting
• Health reporting
• Education reporting
• Peace and security reporting
• Energy reporting
• Natural resources reporting
• Infrastructure reporting
• Science reporting
• Data journalism
• Climate change & environment conservation reporting
• News blogging
• Millenium and Sustainable Development Goals reporting
• African Union Agenda 2063 reporting
• Editorial cartooning

Detailed descriptions of each categories are available HERE.

The Zimeo awards will also feature special prizes to honour outstanding media governance and exemplary corporate support for the media industry. The categories for these awards are:

• Media Governance
• African Public Institutions that Support Media
• Corporate Friends of Media

The winners of the 2015 competition will participate in the African Media Leaders Forum (AMLF) that takes place on 11-13 November 2015 in Johannesburg, South Africa. They will also have an opportunity to participate in capacity building workshops as well as network with media industry leaders, and technology and development experts from across the continent. The highlight of the AMLF 2015 will be the Zimeo Excellence in Media Awards Gala ceremony, which will be held on Friday, 13th November.

Who Can Enter?

The Competition is open to any African journalist, including freelancers working in any media — radio, TV, print, photography and digital platforms — whose primary audiences are based in Africa.

What are the Judges looking for?

Our panel of independent, highly respected and experienced judges will be looking for entries which:
• Demonstrate a high quality of reporting/writing in terms of depth, rigour, research, investigative enterprise, innovativeness, clarity, proper sourcing, fairness, accuracy, exhaustive analysis of the context and background and an above average understanding of the subject matter.
• Are data-driven and use creative digital tools like mapping, crowd sourcing and visualization to help tell the story.
• Demonstrate journalistic integrity in terms of neutrality in the information provided and transparency in sourcing. Stories laden with anonymous sourcing will be rejected.
• Communicate the topic in a way that makes the story relevant and engaging to audiences and that contains evidence of its social impact or benefit to society.
• Were broadcast or published between July 2014 and July 2015. Proof of this will be required.

Applications or other materials sent by post, hand or fax will be rejected. All submissions must be in an electronic format. Contestants must download and fill in the entry form and send it via email with their updated CV attached to The deadline for applications isMonday, 31st August 2015.

For print, please include the PDF scan(s) of the published article. The text of the article must be legible. Maximum file size: 5 MB – Allowed format: PDF only.
For radio – please upload the file onto SoundCloud and provide the URL link on the entry form.
For digital, please include a working website link (URL) on the entry form
For TV material, please upload the video on YouTube and provide the URL link on the entry form.

For more details on the award categories and how to enter, visit our website

Zimeo Excellence In Media